# **JOURNAL**

**OF THE** 

## **SENATE**

**STATE OF MINNESOTA** 

#### **NINETY-SECOND LEGISLATURE**

2021

Published By
The Secretary of the Senate

### Introduction

The 2021 Session of the Ninety-Second Legislature convened January 5, and was organized with a Republican majority. Ten new senators (3 Republican and 7 DFL) were elected in the 2020 election.

Senator Paul E. Gazelka (R-East Gull Lake) was named Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Susan Kent (DFL-Woodbury) was named the Minority Leader.

Senator Jeremy R. Miller (R-Winona) was elected President of the Senate on January 7.

On November 18, 2020, Senator Thomas M. Bakk (Cook) and Senator David J. Tomassoni (Chisholm) left the DFL caucus and formed an Independent caucus.

The political makeup of the 2021 Senate was 34 Republican, 31 DFL, and 2 Independent senators.

With the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, Senate operations continued utilizing procedures established in the 2020 session and made changes to other procedures as needed. On opening day, the oath of office was administered to Senators attending in-person in the chamber and by using a video conferencing platform for members attending in remote locations. Floor sessions continued to allow members to be counted as present and cast their votes from remote locations. Chamber seating for Senators was gradually increased throughout the session. Committee meetings were initially held using a video conferencing platform that allowed remote participation and voting; later in session a hybrid of in-person and video conferencing was used for most meetings. The telecommuting agreement allowing staff to work from remote locations also continued in 2021.

The 2021 session adjourned on the 60th legislative day, Monday, May 17, without the enactment of major appropriation bills needed to finance the operation of state government. Governor Tim Walz called a Special Session for June 14, and over the next 16 days 14 bills were passed and signed into law providing a balanced budget and funding for the operation of state government. The House of Representatives adjourned the special session on June 30, and the Senate adjourned on July 7.

Senator Paul Gazelka announced on September 1 that he was stepping down as Majority Leader. On September 8 the Republican caucus picked Senator Jeremy Miller to succeed Senator Gazelka as Majority Leader.

Senator Susan Kent announced on September 3 that she was stepping down as Minority Leader. On September 13 the DFL caucus picked Senator Melisa Lopez Franzen (Edina) to succeed Senator Kent as Minority Leader.

The Ninety-Second Legislature will reconvene on Monday, January 31, 2022.

#### **Members of the Senate**

Abeler, Jim (R)\* Anderson, Bruce D. (R) Bakk, Thomas M. (I)\*\* Benson, Michelle R. (R) Bigham, Karla (DFL)\*\*\* Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Clausen, Gregory D. (DFL) Coleman, Julia E. (R) Cwodzinski, Steve A. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dornink, Gene (R) Draheim, Rich (R) Duckworth, Zach (R) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Eichorn, Justin D. (R) Eken, Kent (DFL) Fateh, Omar (DFL) Franzen, Melisa (DFL) Frentz, Nick A. (DFL) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Goggin, Michael P. (R) Hawi, Foung (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Howe, Jeff R. (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Isaacson, Jason (DFL) Jasinski, John R. (R) Johnson, Mark (R) Johnson Stewart, Ann (DFL) \*R--Republican

\*\*\*DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Kent, Susan (DFL) Kiffmeyer, Mary (R) Klein, Matt D. (DFL) Koran, Mark W. (R) Kunesh, Mary K. (DFL) Lang, Andrew R. (R) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren, (R) Marty, John (DFL) Mathews, Andrew (R) McEwen, Jennifer A. (DFL) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Murphy, Erin P. (DFL) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Newton, Jerry (DFL) Osmek, David J. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Port, Lindsey (DFL) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Putnam, Aric (DFL) Rarick, Jason (R) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Rudd, Carrie (R) Senjem, David H. (R) Tomassoni, David J. (I) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Utke, Paul J. (R) Weber, Bill (R) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL)

\*\*I--Independent

Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL)

#### **Senate Leaders**

Paul E. Gazelka
Mark Johnson
Roger C. Chamberlain
Zach Duckworth
Karin Housley
John Jasinski
Bill Weber
John Jasinski
Bill Weber
Susan Kent
Melisa Franzen
Nick A. Frentz
Foung Hawj
Kent Eken
Jason Jsaacson

Majority Leader
Deputy Majority Leader
Assistant Majority Whip
Majority Whip
Minority Leader
Assistant Minority Leader
Assistant Minority Leader
Assistant Minority Leader
Assistant Minority Leader
Minority Whip

Minority Whip

#### **Officers of the Senate**

Jeremy R. Miller
David J. Tomassoni
Cal R. Ludeman
Colleen J. Pacheco
Michael R. Linn
Jessica M. Tupper
Melissa G. Mapes
Sven K. Lindquist
Marilyn Logan
Pastor Mike Smith

President of the Senate
President Pro Tem
Secretary of the Senate
First Assistant Secretary
Second Assistant Secretary
Third Assistant Secretary
Engrossing Secretary
Sergeant at Arms
Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Chaplain