### SPECIAL SESSION

### EIGHTEENTH DAY

St. Paul, Minnesota, Tuesday, July 6, 2021

The Senate met at 10:00 a.m. and was called to order by the presider, Senator Osmek.

The members of the Senate paused for a moment of silent prayer and reflection.

The members of the Senate gave the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was called, and the following Senators were present:

Abeler Anderson Bakk Benson Bigham Carlson Chamberlain Champion Clausen Coleman Cwodzinski Dahms Dibble	Draheim Duckworth Dziedzic Eaton Eichorn Eken Fateh Franzen Frentz Gazelka Goggin Hawj Hoffman	Howe Ingebrigtsen Isaacson Jasinski Johnson Johnson Stewart Kent Kent Kiffmeyer Klein Koran Kunesh Lang Latz	Marty Mathews McEwen Miller Murphy Nelson Newman Newton Osmek Pappas Port Pratt Putnam	Rest Rosen Ruud Senjem Tomassoni Torres Ray Utke Weber Westrom Wiger Wiklund
Dibble Dornink	Hawy Hoffman Housley	Lang Latz Limmer	Putnam Rarick	
	•			

Pursuant to Rule 14.1, the President announced the following members intend to vote under Rule 40.7: Bakk, Benson, Carlson (California), Champion, Clausen, Coleman, Draheim, Duckworth, Dziedzic, Eaton, Eken, Fateh, Ingebrigtsen, Johnson Stewart (Wisconsin), Klein, Koran, Latz, Marty, McEwen, Miller, Nelson, Newton, Pratt, Putnam, Rarick, Rosen, Tomassoni, Torres Ray, Utke, Weber, Westrom, and Wiklund.

The President declared a quorum present.

The reading of the Journal was dispensed with and the Journal, as printed and corrected, was approved.

### RECESS

Senator Gazelka moved that the Senate do now recess subject to the call of the President. The motion prevailed.

After a brief recess, the President called the Senate to order.

#### JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

### **MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS**

### **CONFIRMATION**

Senator Gazelka moved that the appointment of the Commissioner of the Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board be withdrawn from the Committee on Rules and Administration. The motion prevailed.

Senator Gazelka moved that the Senate do now consent to and confirm the appointment of:

# IRON RANGE RESOURCES AND REHABILITATION BOARD COMMISSIONER

Mark Phillips, 3365 Breezy Point Rd., Tower, Saint Louis County, effective January 7, 2019, for a term expiring on January 2, 2023.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Senator Kent moved that the Senate do now adjourn the Special Session sine die.

The question was taken on the adoption of the motion.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 31 and nays 35, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Bigham Carlson Champion Clausen Cwodzinski Dibble	Eaton Eken Fateh Franzen Frentz Hawj	Isaacson Johnson Stewart Kent Klein Kunesh Latz	McEwen Murphy Newton Pappas Port Putnam	Torres Ray Wiger Wiklund
Dziedzic	Hoffman	Marty	Rest	

Pursuant to Rule 40, Senator Frentz cast the affirmative vote on behalf of the following Senators: Carlson, Champion, Clausen, Dziedzic, Eaton, Eken, Fateh, Johnson Stewart, Klein, Latz, Marty, McEwen, Newton, Putnam, Torres Ray, and Wiklund.

Those who voted in the negative were:

Abeler	Dornink	Howe	Limmer	Rosen
Anderson	Draheim	Ingebrigtsen	Mathews	Ruud
Bakk	Duckworth	Jasinski	Miller	Senjem
Benson	Eichorn	Johnson	Newman	Tomassoni
Chamberlain	Gazelka	Kiffmeyer	Osmek	Utke
Coleman	Goggin	Koran	Pratt	Weber
Coleman	Goggin	Koran	Pratt	Weber
Dahms	Housley	Lang	Rarick	Westrom

Pursuant to Rule 40, Senator Jasinski cast the negative vote on behalf of the following Senators: Abeler, Bakk, Benson, Coleman, Draheim, Duckworth, Ingebrigtsen, Koran, Lang, Miller, Pratt, Rarick, Rosen, Tomassoni, Utke, Weber, and Westrom.

The motion did not prevail.

1286

18TH DAY]

The question was taken on the adoption of the Gazelka motion that the Senate consent to and confirm the appointment of Mark Phillips. The motion prevailed. So the appointment was confirmed.

# CONFIRMATION

Senator Gazelka moved that the appointment of the Director of the School Trust Lands be withdrawn from the Committee on Rules and Administration. The motion prevailed.

Senator Gazelka moved that the Senate do now consent to and confirm the appointment of:

# SCHOOL TRUST LANDS DIRECTOR

Aaron Vande Linde, 500 Lafayette Rd., Saint Paul, Ramsey County, effective January 1, 2021, for a term expiring on December 31, 2024.

The motion prevailed. So the appointment was confirmed.

### **MEMBERS EXCUSED**

Senator Tomassoni was excused from the Session of today at 12:15 p.m.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Senator Gazelka moved that the Senate do now adjourn until 9:00 a.m., Wednesday, July 7, 2021. The motion prevailed.

Cal R. Ludeman, Secretary of the Senate

1288