SPECIAL SESSION

SEVENTEENTH DAY

St. Paul, Minnesota, Friday, July 2, 2021

The Senate met at 10:00 a.m. and was called to order by the presider, Senator Pratt.

The members of the Senate paused for a moment of silent prayer and reflection.

The members of the Senate gave the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was called, and the following Senators were present:

Abeler	Dornink	Hoffman	Limmer	Putnam
Anderson	Draheim	Housley	Marty	Rarick
Bakk	Duckworth	Howe	Mathews	Rest
Benson	Dziedzic	Ingebrigtsen	McEwen	Rosen
Bigham	Eaton	Isaacson	Miller	Ruud
Carlson	Eichorn	Jasinski	Murphy	Senjem
Chamberlain	Eken	Johnson	Nelson	Tomassoni
Champion	Fateh	Kent	Newman	Torres Ray
Clausen	Franzen	Kiffmeyer	Newton	Utke
Coleman	Frentz	Koran	Osmek	Weber
Cwodzinski	Gazelka	Kunesh	Pappas	Westrom
Dahms	Goggin	Lang	Port	Wiger
Dibble	Hawj	Latz	Pratt	Wiklund

Pursuant to Rule 14.1, the President announced the following members intend to vote under Rule 40.7: Abeler, Anderson, Bakk, Bigham, Carlson (California), Chamberlain, Champion, Clausen, Coleman, Cwodzinski, Dahms, Dibble, Dornink, Draheim, Duckworth, Dziedzic, Eaton, Eichorn, Eken, Fateh, Franzen, Frentz, Gazelka, Goggin, Hawj, Housley, Howe, Ingebrigtsen, Isaacson, Jasinski, Johnson, Kiffmeyer, Koran, Kunesh, Lang, Latz (Tennessee), Limmer, Marty, Mathews, McEwen, Miller, Nelson, Newman, Newton, Osmek, Port, Putnam, Rarick, Rest, Rosen, Ruud, Senjem, Tomassoni, Torres Ray, Utke, Weber, Westrom, Wiger, and Wiklund.

The President declared a quorum present.

The reading of the Journal was dispensed with and the Journal, as printed and corrected, was approved.

EXECUTIVE AND OFFICIAL COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was received.

June 30, 2021

Cal R. Ludeman Secretary of the Senate

Secretary Ludeman,

Pursuant to Rule 8.1, all appointments requiring the advice and consent of the Senate that were referred to committees during the meeting of the regular session of the 92nd Legislature and not finally acted upon by the Senate are returned to the same committees to which they were previously referred. Any appointments returned to a committee not organized pursuant to Senate Resolution No. 1, are instead referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Sincerely,
Jeremy R. Miller
President of the Senate

ADJOURNMENT

Senator Kent moved that the Senate do now adjourn the Special Session sine die.

The question was taken on the adoption of the motion.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 29 and nays 35, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Bigham	Dziedzic	Hawj	Marty	Putnam
Carlson	Eaton	Hoffman	McEwen	Rest
Champion	Eken	Isaacson	Murphy	Torres Ray
Clausen	Fateh	Kent	Newton	Wiger
Cwodzinski	Franzen	Kunesh	Pappas	Wiklund
Dibble	Frentz	Latz	Port	

Pursuant to Rule 40, Senator Kent cast the affirmative vote on behalf of the following Senators: Bigham, Carlson, Champion, Clausen, Cwodzinski, Dibble, Dziedzic, Eaton, Eken, Fateh, Franzen, Frentz, Hawj, Isaacson, Kunesh, Latz, Marty, McEwen, Newton, Port, Putnam, Rest, Torres Ray, Wiger, and Wiklund.

Those who voted in the negative were:

Abeler	Dornink	Howe	Limmer	Rosen
Anderson	Draheim	Ingebrigtsen	Mathews	Ruud
Bakk	Duckworth	Jasinski	Miller	Senjem
Benson	Eichorn	Johnson	Nelson	Tomassoni
Chamberlain	Gazelka	Kiffmeyer	Osmek	Utke
Coleman	Goggin	Koran	Pratt	Weber
Dahms	Housley	Lang	Rarick	Westrom

Pursuant to Rule 40, Senator Benson cast the negative vote on behalf of the following Senators: Abeler, Anderson, Bakk, Chamberlain, Coleman, Dahms, Dornink, Draheim, Duckworth, Eichorn, Gazelka, Goggin, Housley, Howe, Ingebrigtsen, Jasinski, Johnson, Kiffmeyer, Koran, Lang, Limmer, Mathews, Miller, Nelson, Osmek, Rarick, Rosen, Ruud, Senjem, Tomassoni, Utke, Weber, and Westrom.

The motion did not prevail.

MEMBERS EXCUSED

Senators Johnson Stewart and Klein were excused from the Session of today.

ADJOURNMENT

Senator Benson moved that the Senate do now adjourn until 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, July 6, 2021. The motion prevailed.

Cal R. Ludeman, Secretary of the Senate