JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

NINETY-FIRST LEGISLATURE

2020

Published By
The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The Ninety-First Legislature reconvened February 11, 2020, with one change in the caucus leadership of the Minnesota Senate.

Senator Paul E. Gazelka (R-Nisswa) continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Susan Kent (DFL-Woodbury) was named the Minority Leader.

Senator Jeremy R. Miller (R-Winona) continued as President of the Senate.

The political makeup of the 2020 Senate was 35 Republican and 32 DFL senators.

Due to the infectious disease known as COVID-19, Governor Tim Walz issued Executive Order 20-01 on March 13, 2020, declaring a peacetime emergency to prepare and respond to the outbreak in Minnesota. The Senate adjourned on March 16 for ten days, and upon their return on March 26 many changes were implemented to Senate operations and the legislative process. A new telecommuting policy was approved to allow staff to work from remote locations. The Rules of the Senate were amended to allow members to attend session remotely and cast their votes from a location other than the chamber. The chamber seating was greatly reduced, and members attending were also seated in alternate locations in rooms near the chamber. The Senate adjourned the 2020 session sine die on Sunday, May 17.

There were seven special sessions called by Governor Walz in 2020; one each month June through December, as the governor extended the peacetime emergency every 30 days.

Four Senators announced that they would not seek reelection in 2020: Senator Paul T. Anderson (R-Plymouth), Senator Richard J. Cohen (DFL-St. Paul), Senator Scott M. Jensen (R-Chaska), and Senator Carolyn Laine (DFL-Columbia Heights).

On November 12, during the sixth special session of 2020, Senator David J. Tomassoni (DFL-Chisholm) was elected President of the Senate for the remainder of the Ninety-First Legislature, replacing Senator Jeremy R. Miller.

Senator Jerry Relph (R-St. Cloud) passed away on December 18, 2020. Senator Relph served Senate District 14 since 2017.

Members of the Senate

Abeler, Jim (R)* Anderson, Bruce D. (R) Anderson, Paul T. (R) Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL)** Benson, Michelle R. (R) Bigham, Karla (DFL) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Clausen, Greg D. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Cwodzinski, Steve A. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Draheim, Rich (R) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Eichorn, Justin D. (R) Eken, Kent (DFL) Franzen, Melisa (DFL) Frentz, Nick A. (DFL) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Goggin, Michael P. (R) Hall, Dan D. (R) Hawj, Foung (DFL) Havden, Jeff (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Howe, Jeff R. (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Isaacson, Jason (DFL) Jasinski, John R. (R) Jensen, Scott M. (R) Johnson, Mark (R) *R--Republican **DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Kent, Susan (DFL) Kiffmever, Mary (R) Klein, Matt D. (DFL) Koran, Mark W. (R) Laine, Carolyn (DFL) Lang, Andrew R. (R) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren, (R) Little, Matt (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Mathews, Andrew (R) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Newton, Jerry (DFL) Osmek, David J. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Rarick, Jason (R) Relph, Jerry (R) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Rudd, Carrie (R) Senjem, David H. (R) Simonson, Erik (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Utke, Paul J. (R) Weber, Bill (R) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL)

Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Paul E. Gazelka Michelle R. Benson Warren Limmer Gary H. Dahms Eric R. Pratt Karin Housley John R. Jasinski Eric R. Pratt John R. Jasinski Susan Kent Nick A. Frentz Jeff Hayden Carolyn Laine Eric Simonson Ann H. Rest John A. Hoffman Kent Eken

Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader **Assistant Minority Leader** Assistant Minority Leader Minority Whip Minority Whip Minority Whip

Officers of the Senate

Jeremy R. Miller Mary Kiffmeyer Cal R. Ludeman Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica M. Tupper Melissa G. Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Pastor Mike Smith President of the Senate
President Pro Tem
Secretary of the Senate
First Assistant Secretary
Second Assistant Secretary
Third Assistant Secretary
Engrossing Secretary
Sergeant at Arms
Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Chaplain