# **JOURNAL**

**OF THE** 

## **SENATE**

**STATE OF MINNESOTA** 

### **NINETY-FIRST LEGISLATURE**

2019

Published By
The Secretary of the Senate

### Introduction

The 2019 Session of the Ninety-First Legislature convened January 8, 2019, and was organized with the same caucus leadership and a new presiding officer.

Senator Paul E. Gazelka (R-Nisswa) continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Thomas M. Bakk (DFL-Cook) continued as Minority Leader.

Senator Jeremy R. Miller (R-Winona) was elected President of the Senate.

Jeff R. Howe (R-Rockville) won a special election in District 13 on November 6, 2018, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Senator Michelle Fischbach. Senator Howe subscribed to the oath of office on December 11, 2018.

Senator Tony Lourey (DFL-Kerrick) resigned effective January 3, 2019, after being appointed Commissioner of the Department of Human Services by Governor Tim Walz. Jason Rarick (R-Pine City) won a special election on February 5, 2019, to fill the vacancy in District 11. Senator Rarick subscribed to the oath of office on February 13, 2019.

After the special elections, the political makeup of the 2019 Senate was 35 Republican and 32 DFL senators.

The 2019 session adjourned on the 59th legislative day, Monday, May 20, without the enactment of major appropriation bills needed to finance the operation of state government. Governor Tim Walz called a Special Session for May 24, and in a 21 hour, one day session 13 bills were passed and signed into law providing a balanced budget and funding for the operation of state government.

The Ninety-First Legislature will reconvene on Tuesday, February 11, 2020.

#### **Members of the Senate**

Abeler, Jim (R)\* Anderson, Bruce D. (R) Anderson, Paul T. (R) Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL)\*\* Benson, Michelle R. (R) Bigham, Karla (DFL) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Clausen, Greg D. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Cwodzinski, Steve A. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Draheim, Rich (R) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Eichorn, Justin D. (R) Eken, Kent (DFL) Franzen, Melisa (DFL) Frentz, Nick A. (DFL) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Goggin, Michael P. (R) Hall, Dan D. (R) Hawi, Foung (DFL) Hayden, Jeff (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Howe, Jeff R. (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Isaacson, Jason (DFL) Jasinski, John R. (R) Jensen, Scott M. (R) Johnson, Mark (R) \*R--Republican \*\*DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Kent, Susan (DFL) Kiffmever, Mary (R) Klein, Matt D. (DFL) Koran, Mark W. (R) Laine, Carolyn (DFL) Lang, Andrew R. (R) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren, (R) Little, Matt (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Mathews, Andrew (R) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Newton, Jerry (DFL) Osmek, David J. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Rarick, Jason (R) Relph, Jerry (R) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Rudd, Carrie (R) Senjem, David H. (R) Simonson, Erik (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Utke, Paul J. (R) Weber, Bill (R) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL)

Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL)

#### **Senate Leaders**

Paul E. Gazelka Michelle R. Benson Warren Limmer Gary H. Dahms Eric R. Pratt Karin Housley John R. Jasinski Eric R. Pratt John R. Jasinski Thomas M. Bakk Jeff Havden Susan Kent Carolyn Laine Ann H. Rest Kent Eken John A. Hoffman

Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader **Assistant Minority Leader** Assistant Minority Leader Minority Whip Minority Whip Minority Whip

### Officers of the Senate

Jeremy R. Miller Mary Kiffmeyer Cal R. Ludeman Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica M. Tupper Melissa G. Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Pastor Mike Smith President of the Senate
President Pro Tem
Secretary of the Senate
First Assistant Secretary
Second Assistant Secretary
Third Assistant Secretary
Engrossing Secretary
Sergeant at Arms
Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Chaplain