JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

EIGHTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE

2016

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The Eighty-Ninth Legislature reconvened on March 8, 2016, with the same leadership elected in the 2015 session.

Senator Thomas M. Bakk (DFL-Cook) continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator David W. Hann (R-Eden Prairie) continued as Minority Leader.

Senator Sandra L. Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) continued as President of the Senate.

Senator Branden Petersen (R-Andover) resigned effective October 31, 2015. Jim Abeler (R-Anoka) won a special election on February 9, 2016, to fill the vacancy in Senate District 35. He subscribed to the oath of office on February 22, 2016.

The political makeup of the 2016 Senate remained the same with 39 DFL and 28 Republican senators.

In early January 2016, the new Minnesota Senate Building (MSB) was completed, and members and staff that had been previously relocated to downtown St. Paul were moved into the new building. With the major renovation of the Capitol building continuing, the Senate chamber was not available for the 2016 session, so a temporary Senate chamber was set up in Room 1150 MSB. The House of Representatives met in the House chamber in the Capitol in 2016.

The House of Representatives adjourned sine die on the 106th legislative day, Sunday, May 22, 2016. The Senate adjourned sine die on the 107th legislative day, Monday, May 23, 2016.

Senator James P. Metzen (DFL-South St. Paul) announced that the 2016 session would be his last, as he was battling lung cancer. Senator Metzen passed away on July 11, 2016, having served 30 years in the Senate and 12 years in the House. The vacancy will be filled in the November general election.

Twelve other Senators announced they would not seek reelection in 2016: Terri E. Bonoff (DFL-Minnetonka), David M. Brown (R-Becker), Barb Goodwin (DFL-Columbia Heights), Alice M. Johnson (DFL-Blaine), Julianne E. Ortman (R-Chanhassen), John C. Pederson (R-St. Cloud), Roger J. Reinert (DFL-Duluth), Bev Scalze (DFL-Little Canada), Kathy Sheran (DFL-Mankato), Katie Sieben (DFL-Newport), LeRoy A. Stumpf (DFL-Plummer), and Dave Thompson (R-Lakeville).

Members of the Senate

Abeler, Jim (R)* Anderson, Bruce D. (R) Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL)** Benson, Michelle R. (R) Bonoff, Terri E. (DFL) Brown, David M. (R) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Clausen, Greg D. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahle, Kevin L. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Eken, Kent (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Franzen, Melisa (DFL) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Goodwin, Barb J. (DFL) Hall, Dan D. (R) Hann, David W. (R) Hawj, Foung (DFL) Hayden, Jeff (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Jensen, Vicki (DFL) Johnson, Alice M. (DFL) Kent, Susan (DFL) Kiffmeyer, Mary (R) Koenen, Lyle (DFL) Latz, Ron (DFL) *R--Republican **DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor Limmer, Warren (R) Lourey, Tony (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Metzen, James P. (DFL) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Nienow, Sean R. (R) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Osmek, David J. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pederson, John C. (R) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Reinert, Roger J. (DFL) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Ruud, Carrie (R) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Scalze, Bev (DFL) Schmit, Matt (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Sheran, Kathy (DFL) Sieben, Katie (DFL) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Thompson, Dave A. (R) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Weber, Bill (R) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL) Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Thomas M. Bakk Katie Sieben Jeff Hayden Chris A. Eaton Lyle Koenen David W. Hann Michelle R. Benson Gary H. Dahms Paul E. Gazelka Bill Ingebrigtsen Warren Limmer Carrie Ruud David J. Osmek Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Majority Whip Minority Caucus Leader Assistant Minority Leader Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

Sandra L. Pappas Ann H. Rest JoAnne M. Zoff Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Rev. Dennis Morreim President of the Senate President Pro Tem Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain