JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

EIGHTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE

2015

Published By
The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The 2015 Session of the Eighty-Ninth Legislature convened on January 6, and was organized with the same leadership as the previous session. The political makeup remained the same with 39 DFL and 28 Republican senators.

Senator Thomas M. Bakk (DFL-Cook) continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator David W. Hann (R-Eden Prairie) continued as Minority Leader.

Senator Sandra L. Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) was re-elected as President of the Senate.

The 2015 session adjourned on the 65th legislative day, Monday May 18, without enacting the legislation needed to finance the operation of state government. Governor Mark Dayton called a Special Session for June 12, and six bills were passed and signed into law that approved funding for several areas of state government. The Special Session lasted one day.

The renovation of the entire Capitol building continued and in late May, after the regular session adjourned, all remaining offices in the Capitol were moved to temporary offices on the Capitol complex and downtown St. Paul. Due to the construction, the Senate and House chambers in the Capitol were unavailable for use during the Special Session. Temporary chambers were set up in the State Office Building, with the Senate meeting in Room 5 and the House in Room 10.

The Eighty-Ninth Legislature will reconvene on Tuesday, March 8, 2016.

Members of the Senate

Anderson, Bruce D. (R)* Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL)** Benson, Michelle R. (R) Bonoff, Terri E. (DFL) Brown, David M. (R) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Clausen, Greg D. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahle, Kevin L. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Eken, Kent (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Franzen, Melisa (DFL) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Goodwin, Barb J. (DFL) Hall, Dan D. (R) Hann, David W. (R) Hawj, Foung (DFL) Hayden, Jeff (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Jensen, Vicki (DFL) Johnson, Alice M. (DFL) Kent, Susan (DFL) Kiffmeyer, Mary (R) Koenen, Lyle (DFL) Latz, Ron (DFL)

Lourey, Tony (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Metzen, James P. (DFL) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Nienow, Sean R. (R) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Osmek, David J. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pederson, John C. (R) Petersen, Branden (R) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Reinert, Roger J. (DFL) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Ruud, Carrie (R) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Scalze, Bev (DFL) Schmit, Matt (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Sheran, Kathy (DFL) Sieben, Katie (DFL) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Thompson, Dave A. (R) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Weber, Bill (R) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL) Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL)

*R-Republican

Limmer, Warren (R)

**DFL-Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Senate Leaders

Thomas M. Bakk Katie Sieben Jeff Hayden Chris A. Eaton Lyle Koenen

David W. Hann Michelle R. Benson Gary H. Dahms Paul E. Gazelka Bill Ingebrigtsen Warren Limmer Carrie Ruud David J. Osmek Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip

Minority Caucus Leader Assistant Minority Leader Minority Whip

Officers of the Senate

Sandra L. Pappas Ann H. Rest JoAnne M. Zoff Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Rev. Dennis Morreim

President of the Senate
President Pro Tem
Secretary of the Senate
First Assistant Secretary
Second Assistant Secretary
Third Assistant Secretary
Engrossing Secretary
Sergeant at Arms
Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Chaplain