# JOURNAL

### **OF THE**

## SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

### **EIGHTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE**

# 2012

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

### Introduction

The 2012 Session of the Eighty-Seventh Legislature convened January 24, with one change in the leadership of the Minnesota Senate.

Senator David H. Senjem (R-Rochester) was elected Majority Leader and became Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration, replacing Senator Amy T. Koch.

Senator Thomas M. Bakk (DFL-Cook) continued as Minority Leader.

Senator Michelle L. Fischbach (R-Paynesville) continued as President of the Senate.

Rev. David Hennen, Buffalo, resigned as Senate Chaplain on January 23, 2012, and Rev. Phil Shaw, Rochester, was elected Senate Chaplain on January 24, 2012.

Three new members were elected in special elections held during the interim to fill vacancies:

Jeff Hayden (DFL-Minnepolis) was elected in District 61 to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Senator Linda Berglin. Senator Hayden was sworn in on October 25, 2011.

Chris A. Eaton (DFL-Brooklyn Center) was elected in District 46 to fill the vacancy due to the passing of Senator Linda Scheid. Senator Eaton was sworn in on October 28, 2011.

Kari Dziedzic (DFL-Minneapolis) was elected in District 59 to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller. Senator Dziedzic was sworn in on January 20, 2012.

Senator Gary W. Kubly (DFL-Granite Falls) passed away on March 2, 2012, after battling amyotropic lateral sclerosis (ALS). Lyle Koenen (DFL-Clara City) was elected in a special election on April 10, 2012, to fill the vacancy in District 20. Senator Koenen was sworn in on April 18, 2012.

After the special elections, the political makeup of the Senate remained 37 Republicans and 30 DFL.

Sixteen Senators announced they would not seek reelection in 2012. They were Al DeKruif (R-Madison Lake), Chris Gerlach (R-Apple Valley), John M. Harrington (DFL-St. Paul), Linda Higgins (DFL-Minneapolis), Gretchen M. Hoffman (R-Vergas), Michael J. Jungbauer (R-East Bethel), Kenneth S. Kelash (DFL-Minneapolis), Amy T. Koch (R-Buffalo), Keith Langseth (DFL-Glyndon), Doug Magnus (R-Slayton), Mary Jo McGuire (DFL-Falcon Heights), Geoff Michel (R-Edina), Gen Olson (R-Minnetrista), Mike Parry (R-Waseca), Claire A. Robling (R-Jordan), Ray Vandeveer (R-Forest Lake).

The House of Representatives adjourned sine die on the 118th legislative day, May 9, 2012. The Senate adjourned sine die on the 119th legislative day, Thursday, May 10, 2012.

Due to storms in June and early July that caused severe flooding and wind damage in several areas of the state, a Special Session was called by Governor Dayton on August 24, 2012, to provide disaster assistance. The Special Session lasted one day.

### **Members of the Senate**

Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL)\* Benson, Michelle R. (R)\*\* Bonoff, Terri E. (DFL) Brown, David M. (R) Carlson, John J. (R) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Daley, Theodore J. "Ted" (R) DeKruif, Al (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Gerlach, Chris (R) Gimse, Joe (R) Goodwin, Barb J. (DFL) Hall, Dan D. (R) Hann, David W. (R) Harrington, John M. (DFL) Hayden, Jeff (DFL) Higgins, Linda (DFL) Hoffman, Gretchen M. (R) Howe, John Sterling (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill G. (R) Jungbauer, Michael J. (R) Kelash, Kenneth S. (DFL) Koch, Amy T. (R) Koenen, Lyle (DFL) Kruse, Benjamin A. (R) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Latz, Ron (DFL)

Lillie, Ted H. (R) Limmer, Warren (R) Lourey, Tony (DFL) Magnus, Doug (R) Marty, John (DFL) McGuire, Mary Jo (DFL) Metzen, James P. DFL) Michel, Geoff (R) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Nienow, Sean R. (R) Olson, Gen (R) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. DFL) Parry, Mike (R) Pederson, John C. (R) Reinert, Roger J. (DFL) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Robling, Claire A. (R) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Sheran, Kathy (DFL) Sieben, Katie (DFL) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Thompson, Dave A. (R) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Vandeveer, Ray (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL) Wolf, Pam (R)

\*DFL–Democratic-Farmer-Labor \*\*R–Republican

#### **Senate Leaders**

David H. Senjem Julianne E. Ortman Ted H. Lillie Roger C. Chamberlain Paul E. Gazelka Bill G. Ingebrigtsen Claire A. Robling

Thomas M. Bakk Terri E. Bonoff Majority Leader Deputy Majority Leader Majority Whip Assistant Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader

Minority Leader Deputy Minority Leader

## **Officers of the Senate**

Michelle L. Fischbach Cal R. Ludeman Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Rev. Phil Shaw President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain