JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

EIGHTY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE

2007

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The 2007 Session of the Eighty-Fifth Legislature convened January 3 with 18 new Senators and some changes to the leadership of the Minnesota Senate.

Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller (DFL), Minneapolis, was elected Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration, replacing Senator Dean E. Johnson.

Senator David H. Senjem (R), Rochester, was elected Minority Leader, replacing Senator Dick Day.

Senator James P. Metzen (DFL), South St. Paul, was re-elected President of the Senate.

Senator Tarryl L. Clark (DFL), St. Cloud, was selected Assistant Majority Leader, replacing Senator Ann H. Rest.

Catherine E. Morrison, the Engrossing Secretary, retired after 34 years of dedicated service to the Minnesota Senate, including 30 years as an elected Officer of the Senate. Melissa Mapes was elected as the new Engrossing Secretary.

The political makeup of the 2007 Senate was 44 DFLers and 23 Republicans.

The Eighty-Fifth Legislature will reconvene on February 12, 2008.

Members of the Senate

Anderson, Ellen R. (DFL)* Bakk, Thomas M. (DFL) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Betzold, Don (DFL) Bonoff, Terri (DFL) Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chaudhary, Satveer (DFL) Clark, Tarryl L. (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Day, Dick (R)** Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dille, Steve (R) Doll, John (DFL) Erickson Ropes, Sharon (DFL) Fischbach, Michelle L. (R) Foley, Leo T. (DFL) Frederickson, Dennis R. (R) Gerlach, Chris (R) Gimse, Joseph R. (R) Hann, David (R) Higgins, Linda (DFL) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Johnson, Debbie J. (R) Jungbauer, Michael J. (R) Koch, Amy T. (R) Koering, Paul E. (R) Kubly, Gary W. (DFL) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Larson, Daniel G. (DFL) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren (R) Lourey, Tony (DFL) Lynch, Ann (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) *DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor **R--Republican

Metzen, James P. (DFL) Michel, Geoff(R)Moua, Mee (DFL) Murphy, Steve (DFL) Neuville, Thomas M. (R) Olseen, Rick (DFL) Olson, Gen (R) Olson, Mary (DFL) Ortman, Julianne E. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pariseau, Pat (R) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Prettner Solon, Yvonne (DFL) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Robling, Claire A. (R) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Rummel, Sandy (DFL) Saltzman, Kathy (DFL) Saxhaug, Tom (DFL) Scheid, Linda (DFL) Senjem, David H. (R) Sheran, Kathy (DFL) Sieben, Katie (DFL) Skoe, Rod (DFL) Skogen, Dan (DFL) Sparks, Dan (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Tomassoni, David J. (DFL) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL) Vandeveer, Ray (R) Vickerman, Jim (DFL) Wergin, Betsy L. (R) Wiger, Charles W. (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Lawrence J. Pogemiller Tarryl L. Clark Ron Latz Kathy Saltzman Tom Saxhaug Kathy Sheran Dan Skogen Patricia Torres Ray David H. Senjem Betsy L. Wergin Michelle L. Fischbach David Hann Geoff Michel Julianne E. Ortman Julie A. Rosen Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

James P. Metzen Patrick E. Flahaven Patrice Dworak Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn Melissa Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Marilyn Logan Hall Rev. Kevin McDonough President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain