SPECIAL SESSION

TWENTY-FIRST DAY

St. Paul, Minnesota, Thursday, July 7, 2005

Tomassoni Vickerman Wergin Wiger

The Senate met at 1:00 p.m. and was called to order by the President.

CALL OF THE SENATE

Senator Johnson, D.E. imposed a call of the Senate. The Sergeant at Arms was instructed to bring in the absent members.

Prayer was offered by the Chaplain, Sister Margaret Belanger.

The roll was called, and the following Senators answered to their names:

Anderson	Gerlach	Langseth	Olson	Scheid
Bachmann	Hann	LeClair	Ortman	Senjem
Bakk	Higgins	Limmer	Ourada	Skoe
Belanger	Hottinger	Lourey	Pariseau	Skoglund
Berglin	Johnson, D.E.	Marko	Pogemiller	Solon
Betzold	Jungbauer	Marty	Ranum	Sparks
Cohen	Kelley	McGinn	Reiter	Stumpf
Dibble	Kierlin	Metzen	Rest	Tomassoni
Dille	Kiscaden	Michel	Robling	Vickerman
Fischbach	Kleis	Moua	Rosen	Wergin
Foley	Koering	Murphy	Sams	Wiger
Frederickson	Kubly	Nienow	Saxhang	9

The President declared a quorum present.

The reading of the Journal was dispensed with and the Journal, as printed and corrected, was approved.

RECESS

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved that the Senate do now recess until 4:00 p.m.

The question was taken on the adoption of the motion.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 36 and nays 15, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson Bakk Belanger Berglin Betzold Cohen Dibble	Higgins Hottinger Johnson, D.E. Kelley Kiscaden Kleis Koering	Marty Metzen Moua Nienow Pogemiller	Sams Saxhaug Scheid Skoe Skoglund Solon Sparks
Foley	Kubly		Stumpf

Those who voted in the negative were:

Bachmann	Jungbauer	Limmer	Ortman	Robling
Fischbach	Kierlin	McGinn	Pariseau	Rosen
Gerlach	LeClair	Michel	Reiter	Senjem

The motion prevailed. So the Senate was in recess.

The hour of 4:00 p.m. having arrived, the President called the Senate to order.

CALL OF THE SENATE

Senator Johnson, D.E. imposed a call of the Senate. The Sergeant at Arms was instructed to bring in the absent members.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Senator Wiger introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 9: A Senate resolution congratulating Kyle Jerome Droeger of Maplewood, Minnesota, for receiving the Eagle Award.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF SENATE BILLS

The following bills were read the first time and referred to the committees indicated.

Senators Nienow and Kleis introduced--

S.F. No. 99: A bill for an act relating to elections; providing for nonpartisan legislative offices; modifying the allocation of money in the state elections campaign fund; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 10A.31, subdivision 5, as amended; 204D.08, subdivisions 4, 6; 204D.13, subdivision 1.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senators Kleis, Rosen, Nienow and Wergin introduced--

S.F. No. 100: A bill for an act relating to education; providing for prekindergarten through grade 12 education including general education; education excellence; special programs; technology, facilities, and accounting; nutrition; state agencies; school employee health insurance; technical and conforming amendments; authorizing rulemaking; providing for reports; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 13.321, by adding a subdivision; 62E.02, subdivision 23; 62E.10, subdivision 1; 62E.11, subdivision 5; 120A.05, by adding a subdivision; 120B.02; 120B.021, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 120B.024; 120B.11, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8; 120B.22, subdivision 1; 120B.30, subdivisions 1, 1a, by adding a subdivision; 120B.31, subdivision 4; 121A.06, subdivisions 2, 3; 121A.41, subdivision 10; 121A.53; 121A.66, subdivision 5, by adding subdivisions; 121A.67; 122A.06, subdivision 4; 122A.12, subdivision 2; 122A.15, by adding a subdivision; 122A.18, subdivision 2a; 122A.40, subdivision 5; 122A.41, subdivisions 2, 5a, 14; 122A.413; 122A.60, subdivision 1, by adding subdivisions; 122A.61, subdivision 1; 123A.05, subdivision 2; 123B.02, by adding subdivisions; 123B.04, subdivisions 1, 2; 123B.42, by adding a subdivision; 123B.49, subdivision 4; 123B.492; 123B.53, subdivision 1; 123B.54, as amended; 123B.75, by adding a subdivision; 123B.76, subdivision 3; 123B.79, subdivision 6; 123B.81, subdivision 1; 123B.82; 123B.83, subdivision 2; 123B.88, by adding a subdivision; 123B.92, subdivisions 1, 5; 124D.081; 124D.09, subdivision 12; 124D.095, subdivisions 2, 4, 8, by adding a subdivision; 124D.10, subdivision 8; 124D.11, subdivisions 1, 2, 5, 6; 124D.111, subdivision 1; 124D.118, subdivision 4; 124D.40; 124D.59, subdivision 2; 124D.66, subdivision 3; 124D.68, subdivision 9; 124D.69, subdivision 1; 124D.74, subdivision 1; 124D.81, subdivision 1; 124D.84, subdivision 1; 125A.11, subdivision 1; 125A.24; 125A.28; 125A.51; 125A.76, subdivisions 1, 3, 4; 125A.79, subdivisions 1, 6; 126C.01, subdivision 11; 126C.05, by adding subdivisions; 126C.10, subdivisions 1, 2, 13, 13a, 13b, 18, 24, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33; 126C.13, subdivision 4, by adding subdivisions; 126C.17, subdivisions 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, 13; 126C.21, subdivision 4; 126C.40, subdivision 1; 126C.457; 126C.48, subdivisions 2, 8; 126C.63, subdivisions 5, 8; 127A.41, subdivision 8; 127A.45, subdivisions 11, 12; 127A.47, subdivisions 7, 8; 127A.49, subdivisions 2, 3; 128C.12, subdivisions 1, 3; 128D.11, subdivision 9; 134.31, by adding a subdivision; 179A.03, subdivision 14; 260C.201, subdivision 1; 275.14; 275.16; 297I.05, subdivision 5; 469.177, subdivision 9; 475.61, subdivision 4; 2005 S.F. No. 1879, article 3, section 3, subdivisions 2, 3, 7, 8, 24, 25, 26, 27, 29, 31, 32, 35, 36, 41, 43, 44, 50, if enacted; 2005 S.F. No. 1879, article 3, section 4, if enacted; 2005 S.F. No. 1879, article 3, section 5, if enacted; Laws 1996, chapter 412, article 5, section 24; Laws 2003, First Special Session chapter 9, article 4, section 29, as amended; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 62A; 120B; 121A; 122A; 123B; 124D; 125A; 125B; 127A; 129C; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 121A.23; 122A.414; 122A.415; 123B.83, subdivision 1; 125A.75, subdivision 8; 126C.10, subdivisions 13a, 13b, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33; 126C.42, subdivisions 1, 4; 126C.44; 128C.12, subdivision 4.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

MEMBERS EXCUSED

Senators Chaudhary; Gaither; Johnson, D.J.; Larson; Neuville; Pappas and Ruud were excused from the Session of today.

ADJOURNMENT

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved that the Senate do now adjourn until 10:00 a.m., Friday, July 8, 2005.

The question was taken on the adoption of the motion.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 32 and nays 15, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson	Dille	Kubly	Murphy	Sparks
Bakk	Frederickson	Langseth	Pogemiller	Stumpf
Belanger	Higgins	Lourey	Ranum	Tomassoni
Berglin	Johnson, D.E.	Marko	Saxhaug	Vickerman
Betzold	Kelley	Marty	Scheid	
Cohen	Kierlin	Metzen	Skoe	
Dibble	Kiscaden	Moua	Skoglund	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Fischbach	Kleis	McGinn	Ortman	Senjem
Hann	LeClair	Michel	Reiter	Wergin
Jungbauer	Limmer	Nienow	Rosen	Wiger

The motion prevailed. So the Senate was adjourned.

Patrick E. Flahaven, Secretary of the Senate

INDEX TO DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, July 7, 2005

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

S.F. Nos.	Page	H.F. Nos.	Page
Sen. Res.			
No .9	594		

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF SENATE BILLS