Appendix E
Redistricting Commissions:  Legislative Plans

Commissions with Primary Responsibility for Drawing a Plan

State

Number of Members

Selection Requirements

Formation Date

Initial Deadline

Final Deadline

Alaska

Alaska Const. art. 6

5

Governor appoints two; then president of the Senate appoints one; then speaker of the House appoints one; then chief justice of the Supreme Court appoints one. At least one member must be a resident of each judicial district. No member may be a public employee or official.

By September 1, 2010

30 days after census officially reported

90 days after census officially reported

Arizona

Ariz. Const. art. 4, pt. 2, § 1

5

The commission on appellate court appointees creates a pool of 25 nominees, ten from each of the two largest parties and five not from either of the two largest parties. The highest ranking officer of the house appoints one from the pool, then the minority leader of the house appoints one, then the highest ranking officer of the senate appoints one, then the minority leader of the senate appoints one. These four appoint a fifth from the pool, not a member of any party already represented on the commission, as chair. If the four deadlock, the commission on appellate court appointments appoints the chair.

By February 28, 2011

None

None

Arkansas

Ark. Const. 1874, art. 8

3

Commission consists of the governor, secretary of state, and the attorney general

None

By February 1, 2011

Plan becomes official 30 days after it is filed

Colorado

Colo. Const. art. V, § 48

11

Legislature selects four: (speaker of the House; House minority leader; Senate majority and minority leaders; or their delegates). Governor selects three. Judiciary selects four. Maximum of four from the legislature. Each congressional district must have at least one person, but no more than four people representing it on the commission. At least one member must live west of the Continental Divide.

By August 1, 2011

90 days after the availability of the census data, or after the formation of the committee, whichever is later

March 15, 2012

Hawaii

Haw. Const. art. IV

9

President of the Senate selects two. Speaker of the House selects two. Minority senate party selects two. These eight select the ninth member, who is the chair. No commission member may run for the legislature in the two elections following redistricting.

By March 1, 2011

80 days after the commission forms 

150 days after commission formation

Idaho

Idaho Const. art. III, § 2

6

Leaders of two largest political parties in each house of the legislature each designate one member; chairs of the two parties whose candidates for governor received the most votes in the last election each designate one member. No member may be an elected or appointed official in the state at the time of designation.

Within 15 days after the secretary of state orders creation of a commission

None

90 days after the commission is organized, or after census data is receive, whichever is later

Missouri

Mo. Const. art. III, § 2

House: 18 Senate: 10

There are two separate redistricting committees. Governor picks one person from each list of two submitted by the two main political parties in each congressional district to form the house committee. Governor picks five people from two lists of 10 submitted by the two major political parties in the state to form the senate committee. No commission member may hold office in the legislature for four years after redistricting. 

Within 60 days of the census data becoming available

Five months after the commission forms

Six months after formation

Montana

Mont. Const. art. V, § 14

5

Majority and minority leaders of both houses of the Legislature each select one member. Those four select a fifth, who is the chair. Members cannot be public officials. Members cannot run for public office in the two years after the completion of redistricting.

The legislative session before the census data is available

The commission must give the plan to the Legislature at the first regular session after its appointment

30 days after the plan is returned by the Legislature

New Jersey

N.J. Const. art. IV, § 3

10

The chairs of the two major parties each select five members. If these 10 members cannot develop a plan in the allotted time, the chief justice of the state Supreme Court will appoint an 11th member. 

December 1, 2010

February 1, 2011, or one month after the census data becomes available

The initial deadline, or one month after the 11th member is picked

Ohio

Ohio Const. art. XI

5

Board consists of the governor, auditor, secretary of state, and two people selected by the legislative leaders of each major political party.

Between August 1 and October 1, 2011

None 

October 5, 2011

Pennsylvania

Pa. Const. art. II, § 17

5

Majority and minority leaders of the legislative houses each select one member. These four select a fifth to chair. If they fail to do so within 45 days, a majority of the state Supreme Court will select the fifth member. The chair cannot be a public official.

None listed

90 days after the availability of the census data or after commission formation, whichever is later

30 days after the last public exception that is filed against the initial plan

Washington

Wash. Const. art. II, § 43

5

Majority and minority leaders of the House and Senate each select one. These four select a non-voting fifth to chair the commission. If they fail to do so by January 1, 2001, the state Supreme Court will select the fifth by February 5, 2001. No commission member may be a public official.

January 31, 2011

None

January 1, 2012



Advisory Commissions

State

Number of Members

Selection Requirements

Formation Date

Initial Deadline

Final Deadline

Maine

Me. Const. art. IV, pt. 3, § 1-A

15

Speaker of the House appoints three. House minority leader appoints three. President of the Senate appoints two. Senate minority leader appoints two. Chairs of two major political parties, or their designees. The members from the two parties represented on the commission each appoint a public member, and the two public members choose a third public member.

Within three calendar days of convening the Legislature in 2013

The commission must submit its plan to the Legislature within 120 days after the Legislature convenes in 2013. The Legislature must enact the plan, or another plan, by a 2/3 vote of both houses within 30 days after it receives the commission’s plan.

Within 60 days after the Legislature fails to meet its deadline, the supreme judicial court must adopt a plan

Vermont

Vt. Stat. Ann. til. 34A

5

Chief justice appoints the chair; governor appoints one member from each political party that received 25 percent of the vote in the last gubernatorial election; those parties each select one. Secretary of state is secretary of the board but does not vote. No commissioner may be a member or employee of the legislature.

By July 1, 2010

April 1, 2011

May 15, 2011. Legislature must adopt the plan or a substitute at that biennial session.



Backup Commissions

State

Number of Members

Selection Requirements

Formation Date

Initial Deadline

Final Deadline

Connecticut

Conn. Const.

art. III, § 6

9

President pro tem of the Senate, Senate minority leader, speaker of the House, and House minority leader each select two; these eight must select the ninth within 30 days.

After legislature fails to meet deadline (September 15, 2011)

None

November 30, 2011

Illinois

Ill. Const. art. IV, § 3

8

President of the Senate, Senate minority leader, speaker of the House, and House minority leader each select two, one of whom is a legislator and the other is not. No more than four from the same party. If the commission fails to develop a plan by August 10, 2001, the state Supreme Court selects two persons not of the same political party, one of whom is chosen by lot to be the ninth member.

July 10, 2011 (if legislature fails to meet its deadline of June 30)

None

October 5, 2011

Mississippi

Miss. Const. art. 13, § 254

5

Chief justice of Supreme Court is chair; attorney general, secretary of state, speaker of the House, president pro tem of the Senate

After legislature fails to meet deadline (60 days after end of second regular session following decennial census)

None

180 days after special apportionment session adjourns

Oklahoma Okla. Const. § V-11A

3

Attorney general, superintendent of public instruction, and state treasurer

After legislature fails to meet deadline (90 days after convening first regular session following decennial census)

None

None

Texas

Tex. Const. art. 3, § 28

 

5

Lieutenant governor, speaker of the House, attorney general, comptroller of public accounts, and commissioner of the general land office

Within 90 days after legislature fails to meet deadline (adjournment of the first regular session following decennial census)

None

60 days after formation




ncsl.jpg  Go to NCSL Redistricting home page


This page is maintained by the Redistricting and Elections Committee for the National Conference of State Legislatures
Update:  6/25/08 (psw)
Comments:
peter.wattson@senate.leg.state.mn.us