|House | Senate | Joint Departments and Commissions | Bill Search and Status | Statutes, Laws, and Rules|
1.1To: Senator Cohen, Chair
1.2Committee on Finance
1.4Chair of the Transportation and Public Safety Division, to which was referred
1.5S.F. No. 300:
A bill for an actrelating to transportation; motor vehicles; amending
1.6fees for certain motor vehicle titling transactions;amending Minnesota Statutes 2012,
1.7section 168A.29, subdivision 1.
1.8Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:
1.9Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.10 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168A.29, subdivision 1, is amended to
1.12 Subdivision 1. Amounts. (a) The department must be paid the following fees:
1.13 (1) for filing an application for and the issuance of an original certificate of title,
1.14the sum of:
1.15 (i) until December 31, 2016, $6.25 of which $3.25 must be paid into the vehicle
1.16services operating account of the special revenue fund under section 299A.705
1.19surcharge of $1 must be added to the fee and credited to the driver and vehicle services
1.20technology account; and
1.21(ii) on and after January 1, 2017, $8.25 of which $4.15 must be paid into the vehicle
1.22services operating account;
1.23 (2) for each security interest when first noted upon a certificate of title, including the
1.24concurrent notation of any assignment thereof and its subsequent release or satisfaction,
1.25the sum of $2, except that no fee is due for a security interest filed by a public authority
1.26under section 168A.05, subdivision 8;
1.27 (3) until December 31, 2016, for the transfer of the interest of an owner and the
1.28issuance of a new certificate of title, the sum of $5.50 of which $2.50 must be paid into the
1.29vehicle services operating account of the special revenue fund under section 299A.705
1.32a surcharge of $1 must be added to the fee and credited to the driver and vehicle services
1.34 (4) for each assignment of a security interest when first noted on a certificate of title,
1.35unless noted concurrently with the security interest, the sum of $1; and
1.36 (5) for issuing a duplicate certificate of title, the sum of $7.25 of which $3.25 must
1.37be paid into the vehicle services operating account of the special revenue fund under
2.3to June 30, 2016, a surcharge of $1 must be added to the fee and credited to the driver
2.4and vehicle services technology account.
2.7$3.50 fee collected under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and
2.8credited to the public safety motor vehicle account established in section 299A.70."
2.9And when so amended that the bill be recommended to pass and be referred to
2.10the full committee.
2.13April 3, 2013 .....
2.14(Date of Division recommendation)